Thing 5: Reflective Practice

Peter F. Drucker
Words of encouragement help me to stay focused on my work as an information professional. A good story or a small sketch are also great talking points to use for starting the reflective practice process. The topic for CPD23 Thing 5 this week is to discuss REFLECTIVE PRACTICE.
 
Thing 5 Reflective Practice is very important not just for the CPD23 Thing Challenge, but also for life long career development. Using the resource guide for this week, I will identify an event/project and apply the RECALL it, EVALUATE it, and APPLY it methodology.
 
Event- For 2011, I wanted to improve my skills as a information professional by completing several goals which I wrote in an earlier post here. 1) write a book review; 2) establish an online presence  are the two goals I want to showcase in my reflective practice.
 
Evaluation: I found that the hardest part in the reflective practice process is finding time to devote to it. Write a book review- this was both a wonderful and scary opportunity. I responded to a book review request from the editor and wrote the book review on Hack Library School. This was a helpful book for aspiring MLS graduates who interested/want to go into academic librarianship. The learning point that surprised me the most while reading this book is that I am learning to appreciate assessment. My definition of finding value in assessment is that I am learning to seek out material related to libraries/technology that gives me a more quantitative edge. I am all about the ‘warm and fuzzies’, but when administrators are pressured to cut programs– assessment, statistics, Excel spreedsheets are things that excite me because then I am able to search for values in programs. As library/information professionals, advocacy should be on our agendas to ensure that funding is available for our communities.
 
Application: Secondly, my participation in the CPD23 Thing is my way of reviving my online/blog presence. It is so exciting to read other participants who are at different levels in their careers. Many of my professional mentorships/peer groups are virtual and I am very appreciative of all the support that I have received. I have had the opportunity to meet several people whom I first met via online. Skype, Facebook, Blogs, and Linkedin are excellent platforms of communication. The benefits of a MLS degree as well as taking on the CPD23 challenge– will yield a positive outcome in my opinion. I may not use Twitter or Pullnote daily, but having an awareness of how it works is important. I use Twitter for genealogy purposes to stay informed about research tools and methodology. I will continue to use reflective practice exercise as a continue in my profession. This a very helpful process to chart my professional progress as well as serve as a guide for any future research projects.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

