CPD23 Hiatus: MLS journey

Well, I am back on the MLS Bandwagon, while admitting that I have abandoned CPD23 Thing Challenge. I am prideful to the notion that I finish most things that I have started.  The thorn in my side lately has been that I haven’t finished my MLS degree. While on CPD23 Hiatus, I have been working hard to position myself to finish my MLS program.  Now readers before your eye pop out your sockets- let me share with you, my MLS school journey.

Remember that feeling of not knowing what you wanted to be growing up? Well for me—I always knew I wanted to help others, but never knew to what capacity. During my last semester in undergrad, while writing a research paper and completing an independent study bibliographic guide, I discovered a love for finding information. It took me a couple of years in the social services field to realize that my time could be better spent educating clients about nutrition, wellness, healthy lifestyle management through finding resources. My intellectual curiosity for searching for information led me to an information session on library schools. It was during that time that I ‘bought’ into the idea of becoming an ‘Information Ninja’. [Wait, don’t cue the symphonic harmonies yet]. I had no idea that that the next two years of my life would play out as one faculty member suggested. In my first MLS lecture, the professor said something that now reasonates with me, ‘In the undergraduate years, YOU get in the way. During graduate school, LIFE GETS IN THE WAY.’ Nothing could be farthest from the truth. Half way through my program, I encountered some health challenges that prevented me from achieving my MLS within a two year period. Despite this minor setback, I am ready again to resume the challenge of tackling the MLS program.

Even though I do not have the credentials, I won’t let that discourage my focus. So my advice for people who may feel unmotivated, hopeless, or defeated; please know that you are not alone. NEVER give up on your dreams. I leave you with a couple of references regarding professional development.

Reflections on Mentoring-  By Tixylix

Professional Advice- By Academic Librarian

Charting My Professional Journey  By Joeyanne Libraryanne

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lesley
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 15:37:18

    Hope you’re feeling great now! Glad to hear you’re getting back on track with your library degree. :-) Halfway through my first semester, I’m definitely getting an idea of how life gets in the way during graduate school! I need to buckle down on a paper this weekend!!

    All the best,
    Lesley

    Reply

  2. Jo Alcock
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 06:13:11

    Thanks for the link to my blog post :)

    I took much longer than I had planned to complete my librarianship qualification (MSc over here in UK) too. I started in 2006 and only just finished a few months ago (still waiting for dissertation results – hopefully I’ll pass!). I found my professional network incredibly useful for support and advice – feel free to tweet me if you want to chat about it (I’m @joeyanne).

    Reply

  3. Ge Ge
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 11:25:56

    Thanks Lesley for the feedback. Hang in there…library school will go by so fast.

    Reply

  4. colesk
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 13:17:35

    I’m about three weeks into graduate study and already I could not agree more!

    Good luck, and hope you enjoy it!

    Reply

  5. LibGirl09
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 15:21:19

    Congrats GeGe on deciding to go back to school. Have you chosen a program yet? Oh my, do I ever agree that life keeps getting in the way of grad school. At the start of every semester I tell myself “this one is going to be better” and then something outside of my control happens. Granted, I’m not the best at time management, but last fall and this fall have been especially tough with unexpected situations.

    Good luck though! Hopefully, whatever life throws at you next won’t be as hard. Looking forward to hearing about what you will be learning. :)

    Reply

  6. Morwenna (@tixylix)
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 15:25:29

    Just making my way through a gazillion CPD23 posts and read yours, only to see my blog referred to – thanks! I have temporarily stalled my CPD23 blogging…as you say, various things can get in the way, some of which you can control and some you can’t. I’m also intrigued to see how many of us will continue using the tools we’ve learned about and the blogs we’ve created along the way…! My intentions are good at the moment! Anyway, good luck with your studies – you sound like a determined person who will definitely make things happen.

    Reply

  7. Evelyn N. Alfred
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 21:42:08

    That’s great that you are going back. I will be starting in the fall and will do my best to not let life get in my way, but sometimes I know it will anyway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

