My first solo copy-cataloged book

Hello Everyone,

I have a GREAT reason for being electronically absent. I am developing my skills for cataloging and my library manager has given me the green light to start cataloging. I want to take a break to at least share a funny snapshot that I created to show my work. Hey…I may be a cataloger/metadata librarian in the making. Image

Future updates coming soon.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lesley
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 14:42:22

    How fun! Congratulations! :-) Do you have to take a cataloging class in your MLS program?

    Reply

  2. ashazenzi
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 19:04:39

    good going ge ge! i’ve yet to get my hands on some cataloging!

    Reply

  3. Variegated Stacks
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 12:11:36

    @ Lesley…yeah I took the Introduction to cataloging. I also took a paid course via OCLC for original cataloging. @ Asha…don’t worry. Cataloging isn’t all that bad. It helps if the items/books/serials are in an subject that is cool. I just started at my job doing original cataloging for scientific reports. There are some things that are interesting.

    Reply

  4. LibGirl09
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 13:41:27

    Very cool! I’m still debating if I’m going to take a cataloging course before I graduate (there are so many courses I’m interested in)… Do think it’s easy to learn on-the-job, or is it more helpful to have an introductory course beforehand?

    Reply

  5. Evelyn N. Alfred
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 13:48:17

    Oooooh, so when I’m looking for a book and the info about the book comes up, the person that cataloged it is the reason why I’m able to find it.

    So is it hard work? Do you love it?

    Reply

    • Variegated Stacks
      Dec 21, 2011 @ 09:42:14

      Yep Evelyn…that would be me :-0 I like to think of myself as the girl behind the screen. Making everything searchable by putting in the appropriate fields/tags. It’s really cool. Right now the collection that I am working on is pretty dry…scientific reports. Copy-cataloging is easy because someone has already done the basic cataloging for you. When one copy-catalogs things, they grab the item (figuratively via computer database) to show that it resides in their collection. Original cataloging is more challenging because the librarian has to create (from scratch) an original record. I see the value in cataloging. I won’t say that I am overly enthusiastic about cataloging, however the skills that I have learned make me a better researcher and I can help students find materials in the library quicker by subject headings/key words.

      Reply

  6. Ge Ge
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 09:29:24

    In my opinion, it’s helpful to take a class. However…I hesitate to advocate for having a class first. Cataloging is an insteresting field…practice practice practice…or shall I say on-the-job training. There are so many types of classification schemes such as Library of Medicine(NLM) , Library of Congress (LC), etc. I found it helpful to talk to several professional catalogers (i.e. Metadata Librarians) who is already work in the field. I think it is an interesting time to start learning how to catalog since more things are being created digitally instead of starting as a physical entity (i.e. monographs). Most job positions require paraprofessionals to have some type of working knowledge of how to catalog. Once you get the general idea of how to do it…the rest is easy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

