Library Day in the Life- Groovy Day 2

Hello Everyone!!!!

I’m back for another dose of Library Day in the Life. I won’t bore you with the details of my full-time job as a Library Assistant. I shared here in my previous post. As a Librarian-in-Training, I decided to get an additional part-time job just to keep my reference skills and critical thinking skills fresh while completing my Master’s degree online. I learn better through experiential learning, which my undergraduate college trained me well.

5:40PM-10:00PM

My part-time Library Graduate Intern position at a local private university is very exciting and challenging because I am at the ‘frontline’ circulation desk. I supervise two Student Assistants every shift. My main responsibilities include:

  • Reference Interview/Providing Instructions on navigating databases
  • Capturing Statistics (i.e. Entrance Totals, Money transactions, Ref Stats)
  • Answering Directional questions (i.e. restroom location, print cards)
  • Answering  telephone reference questions
  • Reporting Security Issues
  • Resolving Printing Issues
  • Updating Student barcodes

In this position, I am learning to manage my time better and working with a diverse student body. Today was extremely busy because I answered several call-in reference questions and updated student barcodes (i.e. allows remote access for students to search the database offsite). A couple of interesting questions that I received on the reference desk include:

Question 1: How do I get several articles about ADHD and misdiagnosis? I have to write a reaction paper on this issue.

Answer 1: Here is our Subject Guides section for Psychology & Counseling, which links to the available databases. I showed the student how to navigate the ProQuest Psychology journal database. Subject terms: Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder and Diagnostic errors [Search yields: 61 articles]

Question 2: I need several peer review articles about assessment and education. Does the university have the Educational Measurement: Issues and Practice journal?

Answer 2: Here is the link to search by journal title in the university catalog. If you are unable to locate this title, we can look in the Consortium catalog to see which school has this title. (I showed the student how to navigate the journal title search feature and showed the student how to request the article via Interlibrary loan)

Future Projects- There are three other Library Graduate Interns who are working to develop an instruction course. In the course they will show students the Subject Guides and how to request articles/books from the consortium. I hope to work on creating a short instructional video to demonstrate how to add more money to student accounts for printing.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lesley
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 19:07:48

    I’m enjoying your Library Day in the Life posts! :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

